What Does GIA Certification Mean?

If you have tried to buy diamonds before, you’ve probably come across the phrase “GIA certified.” GIA is an acronym for the Gemological Institute of America, considered the world’s leading geological research institute. The GIA tests diamonds and grades them based on the 4 C’s: carat weight, cut, color, and clarity. Testing is conducted under stringent guidelines not to miss any flaws. The institute then files a test report and signs off on the diamond’s quality. The diamond is then considered “GIA certified.”

While the term “GIA certified” has grown in use, it is worth noting that the GIA does not certify diamonds but only grades them. The phrase is generally used to refer to diamonds that have been evaluated by the GIA.

Why Is GIA Certification Important?

GIA certification tells you everything you need to know about your diamond. The GIA report details all its findings of the diamond’s four aspects in the report. It highlights the diamond’s strengths and weaknesses with objectivity. This information is important for two reasons:

Determining the Diamond’s Authenticity

The deep-seated beauty of diamonds is that they take millions of years and intense pressure to develop. However, it is now possible to make diamonds in the laboratory, and the replicas are so good that it is difficult to tell them apart. GIA certification helps tell natural diamonds apart from replicas.

Determining the Diamond’s Value

Diamonds are quite expensive, and their demand attracts fraud. Essentially, unscrupulous traders can trick unsuspecting buyers into paying more than a diamond is worth. While the GIA does not set diamond market prices, it provides detailed reports about every important characteristic of a diamond that determines its intrinsic value.

Key Components of a GIA Report

A GIA diamond report features a unique number that is used to look up the report online. Essentially, the report has a GIA color scale that ranges from D to Z. Here’s a breakdown of the color scale:

D-F: The diamond is colorless.

G-J: The diamond has slight color but almost colorless.

K-M: There is a color that can be observed with a naked eye.

N-R: Diamond color is considered very light.

S-Z: Diamond’s color is considered to be on the darker end of the scale.

The GIA analyzes the clarity of a diamond by looking for surface blemishes and inclusions. They then grade the diamond based on size, relief, amount, nature, and position. The most prominent clarity characteristics are then presented in a report with a key for each symbol used in the diagram.

Turn to Our GIA-Trained Jewelers in Bucks County

All our diamond selections have GIA diamond reports to guarantee quality. For more information about all of our offerings, including bridal jewelry and custom design services, reach out to our team today!

Book an Appointment today!